Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to riding motorcycles on the rode. But I grew up on dirtbikes and quads. I'm looking into either getting the z or the 2017 grom when it becomes available. No where around me has the new grom yet, but ther are two places with the z. My main concern is I heard the Honda is more dependable and will last longer granted you take care of it. Is this something that is the truth? I have little to no experience with Kawasaki. I also have been reading a lot and it seems like the grom gets better mileage. I will be using this bike to commute 25 miles each way , and the whole reason for me looking into these bikes is to save on gas money. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
207 Posts
I put over 1000 miles on mine in the first month of ownership and haven't had an issue with it yet. It all depends on how well you take care of it. Hondas are known for reliability but when you start adding aftermarket parts that reliability decreases. That's the same with the Kawasaki. It's honestly going to be a choice of preference.

·
Registered
466 Posts
I think Kawasaki is just as reliable and both are from a Japanese company. Really down to how well you take care of it and which design you like more. Have you tried riding on the Z125 yet?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Your going to commute to work 50 miles a day on a z or grom? I'm guessing highway will occupy a good many of these miles? They simply cant sustain highway speeds needed. They can both punch over 60mph on a perfect flat, but a slight hill or wind will bring that down to low 50s really quick. I would take my z out on the highway, but only for a short period of time a few kilometres or so and then I would exit. Also as for reliability, I think you will find they will be virtually the same.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5