Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a certified master technician and notice alot of these z125 including mine. The front tire rotation is going the wrong direction from the factory. Check your tire direction of rotation. There should be an arrow pointing the direction of rotation. Its even funny that most pictures of these bike shows the front tire are in the wrong direction too.... LOL.

·
Registered
315 Posts
There should be 2 arrows. One for front and the other direction for rear. It was like that with my stock IRC tires anyway.

·
Registered
143 Posts
LOL! Read the fine print before the arrow. One side says front rotation and the other says rear rotation. A lot of people seem to get tricked by this.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My front tire rotation is backward. Its going counter clockwise. Just by looking at the tread pattern it doesnt look right. I only notice my tire rotation at 300miles after my first rain ride. As the picture I posted. What I know as a certified master technician. The rotation should be arrow going foward, not backwards.

Attachments

·
Registered
562 Posts
I don't ride in the rain, so I never car about tread direction. My only concern is that some tires don't react well to being run backwards.

Internal plies favor rotation in one direction and can tend to delaminate when rotating backwards. Delamination was a big problem with Dunlops at the race track for many years. That said, I don't know if it's a problem on a bike with this little horsepower.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Crimson, do you have a picture of your tire mounted backwards?

Zaph, these tires are okay to run in either direction outside of the rain. The front is mounted opposite the rear, so they are basically designed to be run either way.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #10