• Depends on the situation.

Votes: 5 31.3%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
895 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was slipping around a bit too much yesterday for my liking. I think I'm ready for better tires.

Decent tires are pretty cheap for these bikes, but then I'm looking at the cost of mounting and balancing four tires and I don't have a way to get all four off the bikes at one time so it's a bit of added hassle shuffling them to and from a shop.

I'm basically a pro at mounting bicycle tires so I figure it's the same thing on a larger scale. I thought balancing was the dealbreaker for DIY tire mounting until I heard about Dynabeads. They seem promising but I'm not a full believer.

So, my question is this:

Do you always mount/balance your own tires? Why or why not? Should I consider gearing up?

Thanks in advance everyone!

·
Registered
369 Posts
<------ This guy mounts them.

Attached is a sketch of how to make your very own CABB to break beads. Requires nothing more than a few pieces of scrap 2x4 and some screws. Only the one board is fastened to anyone, so there is a bit of juggling required as you apply load to the lever... an assistant makes it much easier but I do it by myself.

To remove tire:
Let air out of tire. remove Schrader valve or drill a couple 1/4"ish holes in the tire.
Use the CABB. The holes will allow air to come out and the tire to compress enough to get it off the rim.
Grab your 3 tire irons and rim protectors and wrestle that sucker off.

To install the tire:
Grab your 3 tire irons and rim protectors and wrestle that sucker on.
Set the bead. Wratchet strap around the circumference of the tire. Hit it with some soapy water to help bead seal. Wratchet, wratchet, wratchet… center of tire gets pulled toward center of rim, edges push out against rim making tight seal.
Blast it with air compressor to set bead.
TIP- remove Schrader valve to set bead. Lets more air through.

To balance:
Dynabeads.