Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, just purchased a gently used (but heavily modified) z125 in the Cincinnati area. Loving the bike so far, but had a few questions.
1- The bike idles with wavering rpm, not sure if that is normal, perhaps not, it idles at around 1000-1400 rpm is that normal?
2- The previous owner put a few mods in, pro-taper handle bar, modified headlight I think. Anyway I'm having problems with the head light, it shuts off at odd times and I just get the regular light going only. I think the light is sucking too much juice out of the battery/alternator, it seems to be affecting the idle rpm too. I have had the engine shut off a few times on me at a traffic light, its also shut off at low speed in 1st gear once or twice, and now I'm getting the red battery warning light. I am not very good with electronics but is there a way to diagnose what is going? I would consider going back to the stock headlight just wanted any of your thoughts. Anyone have a stock setup they'd be willing to sell me ? I could put some pictures up to get some help diagnosing what mod I have.

Thanks

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Sorry correction it idles about 1500-1600, if i open the throttle and close it sticks at 2000 rpm for a few seconds before coming down to about 1800-1600 rpm. I noticed some flickering on the gauges when revving it up slightly. Is this an electrical issue?

·
Registered
165 Posts