Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

Hose’er down?

2K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  North East Ohio 
#1 ·
Hello all, curious on your thoughts on something. Washing the Z… I’m new to motorcycles so some tasks that are simple to most, I have some questions on. I take detailing pretty seriously on all my vehicles. Im fully loaded with chemical guys products and tools. Once or twice since owning the bike (250 miles) I’ve cleaned it with quick detailer and waterless wash.

Certainly does a decent job but I’ll be washing my car this weekend using a pressure washer and a foam cannon and thought about adding 10 more minutes to wash the bike too. I get motorcycles are mostly made to withstand mother nature but what about focused water pressure? Would power washing it and completely soaking it in soap hurt anything? Should anything get covered first to prevent problems while washing? What needs to be lubed other than the chain afterwards? Remove battery first? (Electrical hazard?) I’d like to scrub all the nooks and crannies of the engine area. Looking forward to the advice!

#3 ·
Avoiding power washers on bikes is a good idea. Power washers are ok on engines and wheels where you need that the most like head fins and underneath also counter sprocket chain lube excess areas. But areas to avoid a directed spray is to all wiring connectors on the motor and coil, plug cap, handlebar control housings. None are waterproof connectors. and avoid under the seat. The Wheel Bearing Dust Seals, Swingarm Seals, O-ring chains, are designed for typical mother nature conditions, But the extreme pressure can override the sealing force and let water in. Also avoid direct spray into the tailpipe and airbox inlet. Always re-lube the chain after washing or riding in wet conditions. I've never disconnected my battery for washing, but I don't use power sprayers and avoid everything electrical anyways except for the necessary once or twice pass over