Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So being a newbie, I am asking what are the differences and what is the end or starting date/ vin number of the
change in generations?
Thanks
Rick

·
Registered
89 Posts
What change in generations are you referring to? AFAIK the only changes that have been made to the Z125 have been paint colors/graphics. There was a recall on early models where they switched out the ECU to the same as the newer ones. They made a slight change to the recommended drive chain slack adjustment so that some swingarm stickers have an upper limit of 1.4 inches while newer bikes have one that says 1.2 inches.

Those are the only changes I know of, and I wouldn't think any of them constituta a generational change.

It looks like Europe will be getting all new models for 2019, but I haven't heard about any plans to bring them to North America.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well prior to buying my new to me 18 Z, I did a lot of reading of reviews and such.
I came across a few statements with reference to the Gen 1 and Gen 2.
So I assumed there was some type of modification(s) to warrant the difference?
Anyway no big deal, and I have seen the 19 in pics, pretty slick.
ABS, gauges, body work, seat too if I recall correctly, are a few of the changes.

·
Super Moderator
412 Posts
Just to clarify if we're talking about the 12" wheel Z125. Then to put it simply there is no such thing as a Gen 2. There is no difference throughout the years except for color, some recalls, and yes the chain thing mentioned above. Just some ultra minor stuff.

If we're talking about the new Euro "full size" Z125. Then the only difference is everything.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Anyway no big deal, and I have seen the 19 in pics, pretty slick.
ABS, gauges, body work, seat too if I recall correctly, are a few of the changes.
Are you referring to the 2019 Z125 Pro?