Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How's it going everyone. I just wanted to know what do you put on your z.

I use 93 octane on mine since filling up this bike is cheap.

How about you? :)

·
Registered
143 Posts
I work in the fuels career field for the Air Force and take an interest in fuel outside of that. You are likely just costing yourself a few extra pennies for nothing running premium. Our simple little Z125 engines just aren't designed for it. The only way I would run higher octane would be if I did upgrades that I felt needed it such as higher compression. A couple months ago I went to a station and mid-grade was a penny cheaper a gallon, and I still got 87 in my Jeep. Even going 86 or 85 wouldn't bother me much, but I would certainly be listening for knocking.

There are a lot of discussions on this over the years on the internet. Here is a pretty good one: https://www.reddit.com/r/askscience/comments/p97jk/does_using_a_higher_grade_gasoline_give_me_better/

·
Registered
22 Posts
I use 87 as recommended. Higher octane is for higher compression ratios. Since the Z is air cooled, I feel that it's best to run the recommended 87 in it.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I use 87 as recommended. Higher octane is for higher compression ratios. Since the Z is air cooled, I feel that it's best to run the recommended 87 in it.

That makes sense since 93 octane burns hotter than 87.

I forgot to take into consideration that our motor is air cooled and not water cooled. :)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Until you add more compression or advance the timing, you will not see any advantage in running 91/93 octane fuel over regular 87.

Also, 93 octane doesn't burn any hotter than 87. The octane rating is simply a fuels resistance to detonation under pressure. All other qualities, such as energy potential, heat production, burn rate, etc.. have nothing to do with the octane rating.

·
Registered
3 Posts