Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my Z125 Pro yesterday. It is my 44th motorcycle (I've been motorcycling for over 50 years), and shares its parking space with a highly modified Yamaha R3 that has been lightened by 44 lb (which got the Yamaha down to 300.7 lb before gas).

My intent was to buy either the Z125 Pro or the Honda Grom, up the power just a bit, lighten the bike aggressively beyond its already low starting weight, and beautify it and improve its performance, making it into a "little jewel"!

I have been modifying bikes, from 50cc through 1800cc, all my adult life, and the models chosen have included standards, cruisers, and sportbikes. The brands have included Suzuki, Honda, Norton, Kawasaki, Yamaha, Ducati, Aprilia, and KTM (I may have forgotten 1 or 2). The bikes have included single cylinder, twin, triple, four cylinder, and 6-cylinder engines. Weights of the bikes have ranged from 275 lb to over 800 lb. Lately my fixation has been on small, lightweight, very nimble motorcycles.

Both my pre-purchase research and my first ride uncovered some really interesting things about this tiny motorcycle:

- It weighs 224.8 lb as delivered, BUT that includes 2.0 gallons of fuel, which means the bike itself weighs just 212 lb. before gas. The Grom is notably more: 229 with gas, and about 219 before gas.

- It is relatively easy to get LOTS of weight off of the 212 lb Z125, via simple removal of OEM parts and substitution of lightweight replacement parts. I'm pretty confident I will get the bike below 200 lb pretty quickly, and haven't yet determined a sensible lower limit!