Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have been riding z125 for 400 miles.

But I don't know the skill of downshift in a high speed like 70km/h when motor is on level 4. I tried it one time, I almost got throw out by the suddenly decreasing of speed.

The engine is likely going to stuck when I downshift from 4th to 3rd level. I can only downshift fluently with a speed of 20~30 km/h.

Anyone can teach me how to do it rightly?:crying:

·
Registered
875 Posts
Option 1: Rev match.

1. Pull in clutch
2. Downshift
3. Rev motor to match RPM in desired gear
4. Let clutch out

Takes practice. If I downshift at 100 kph, I just pull in the clutch, drop a gear, grab a fist full of throttle, then pop the clutch.

Option 2: Let clutch out slowly

This is the easier of the two options.
1. Pull in clutch
2. Downshift
3. Slowly let clutch out and let the RPMs catch up without upsetting the bike

·
Registered
58 Posts
I'm not a professional by any means. The manual that came with my bike on page 73 describes the procedure for shifting and then shows a chart on speeds.
Shifting UP km/h (mph)
1 to 2 15 (9)
2 to 3 25 (15)
3 to 4 35 (21)

Shifting DOWN km/h (mph)
4 to 3 20 (12)
3 to 2 15 (9)
2 to 1 15 (9)

IMO if you are trying to downshift at 70km\h you should stop. If you are doing so to try to accelerate more quickly to get around something you need to go full throttle as you let out on the clutch and you are so close to top end I don't know why you would want to be in third gear anyway.

·
Registered
875 Posts
Downshift from 4 to 3 at 12 MPH? That's a joke right? Can you even get our of your own way in 3rd at 12 MPH? 70 KPH is ~43 MPH which is about the right time you want to downshift to 3rd.

·
Super Moderator
2,093 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Just don't shift down (or bump the gear lever down by mistake) at too high a speed, otherwise you will do damage, eh Greedy

·
Registered
108 Posts