Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm super curious, since I've read that you'll actually get a "worse" performing engine if you keep it below 4K for 500 miles, then under 6K after that up to 1,000 miles. Oh and no further than 3/4 throttle...
Personally, I've been running it WOT and near the redline, I can't go slow in a 40 MPH zone.

I'm new to bikes, and I know in cars you definitely have to break in the motor carefully.

·
Registered
563 Posts
This is how I broke mine in.
**** yeah that's the way to do it. Get out there, get on it and change the oil when you're done.

Some interesting facts:
All bikes have several runs up to redline at the factory. It's all part of the QC program.
Break-in requirements in the manual are written by lawyers with ulterior motives.

·
Registered
2 Posts
They told me at the dealer to ride it all weaksauce style then bring it back to change the oil at 600 miles. I said screw that and am riding it like an idiot and will change the oil at 200 miles, then again at 1000 or so. Just like my sport bikes. Any thoughts with this method?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Excellent replies, thanks guys. I had already come across Break In Secrets before, and I think I'll be listening to this guy.

However, I will warm up the engine for 3 minutes, follow the manual (<4K revs) for a trip around the neighborhood, then rip it.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Excellent replies, thanks guys. I had already come across Break In Secrets before, and I think I'll be listening to this guy.

However, I will warm up the engine for 3 minutes, follow the manual (<4K revs) for a trip around the neighborhood, then rip it.
Not a bad idea

·
Registered
24 Posts