Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I got a CEL during the weekend and checked it out today thanks to a video from Kaw’ee. After turning key to on, I counted 3 long 1 short then 5 long 1 short and it just kept repeating the 5 long 1 short, not showing the 3 long 1 short again. Looked it up, first(31) is vehicle-down sensor malfunction and second(51) is ignition coil malfunction. I’m no master mechanic but I can do the basics with basic tools.

Weather here is temporarily getting better and I’d like to ride ASAP without CEL worries so how can I fix these codes? Have you other riders also gotten these codes before? What’s the cause of these codes? Any help is greatly appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
1,713 Posts
After turning key to on, I counted 3 long 1 short then 5 long 1 short and it just kept repeating the 5 long 1 short, not showing the 3 long 1 short again.
Ya, my bad...
you need to disregard the first code because it is in the middle of the first code at somewhere in its cycle .. so the 3 long was just part of the 5 long in progress
I need to add something in the description for that . or maybe make a new video :rolleyes:
And its why to important to let it go through all the codes a couple of times
to make sure the first code gets disregarded..
But in your case theres just the one code :wink2:
Weather here is temporarily getting better and I’d like to ride ASAP without CEL worries so how can I fix these codes? Have you other riders also gotten these codes before? What’s the cause of these codes? Any help is greatly appreciated!
If bikes running fine I disregard the codes (mine has 8 codes right now) and running great.

If it was just a glitch, the CEL will go off automatically after 4/10mi rides if you cycle the key after each ride. (pic)

If bikes running bad see pages 432/433 & pages 143/144 n the service manual to check coil

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3