Kawasaki Z125 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 2 cars that run E85 at all times. I keep two 55 gallon drums at my house because of this. It would be nice to run my Z125 on the same fuel.

I am curious if anyone here or anywhere has tuned their Z125 on E85... I've been looking for a reason to buy a Bazzaz Z-FI anyways. This could be it.....

·
Registered
17 Posts
I am no expert on fuel but I am pretty sure you need an engine specifically designed for E85. If all it took was some setting changes on an ECU, E85 usage would very much be widespread.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I am no expert on fuel but I am pretty sure you need an engine specifically designed for E85. If all it took was some setting changes on an ECU, E85 usage would very much be widespread.
actually it is that easy lol. E85 just needs 20% more fuel than 91 octane and is octane equivalent to 102ish with cooling advantage of alcohol. At most you would need to upgrade the fuel injector depending on your mods and goals, then a tune. I would suggest a power commander for e85 since bazzaz can't tune ignition timing, you won't get the full advantage of running e85 if you can't ramp the timing up too. I'll be running mine on E85, and turbo eventually feel free to pm me I can help you out once I get mine lined out.

·
Registered
176 Posts
I don't use any fuel with ethanol. It loves to eat rubber fuel lines and if your bike has a plastic fuel tank it will distort the thing. Just look on the Ducati forum.
**** I don't even use this stuff in my weed wacker or lawn mower as it will cause the fuel tank to crack.
I always use 98 fuel.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I don't use any fuel with ethanol. It loves to eat rubber fuel lines and if your bike has a plastic fuel tank it will distort the thing. Just look on the Ducati forum.
**** I don't even use this stuff in my weed wacker or lawn mower as it will cause the fuel tank to crack.
I always use 98 fuel.