·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Super Moderator
2,072 Posts
Just curious if anyone has had any issues with an aluminum carrier?*/QUOTE]

I have a Alum' heaver load rating one myself ,But My neighbor just got that exact one and went to Washington and back here with no problem ,and he has a 450 cc bike bike . . But the spacing might be a bit much for the 12" tires ? , and you will probably have to come up with a different tie-down points / if you go all the way to one end or set it in the middle (easy eye-bolts fix)
But I've been using Alum carriers for 20 years / no problems :wink2:

Attachments

·
Registered
864 Posts
I think it all depends on the tow vehicle. 400# is a lot of tongue weight. I would be leary about using something like that on anything other than a truck frame (ergo the van in Kaw'ee's post). If you try and hook one of those up to a CRV (or any other car based platform), you are asking for trouble.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Do you remember what model carrier this is? I'm skeptical about getting one that has a wheel chock that will hold our size tires. Your seems to be doing a great job!

Just curious if anyone has had any issues with an aluminum carrier?*/QUOTE]

I have a Alum' heaver load rating one myself ,But My neighbor just got that exact one and went to Washington and back here with no problem ,and he has a 450 cc bike bike . . But the spacing might be a bit much for the 12" tires ? , and you will probably have to come up with a different tie-down points / if you go all the way to one end or set it in the middle (easy eye-bolts fix)
But I've been using Alum carriers for 20 years / no problems /forum/images/Z125owners/smilies/tango_face_wink.png

·
Super Moderator
2,072 Posts