Nope! Let the pros handle that. 2 13.33%
Depends on the situation. 5 33.33%
Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 05:05 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Question Who mounts their own tires?

I was slipping around a bit too much yesterday for my liking. I think I'm ready for better tires.

Decent tires are pretty cheap for these bikes, but then I'm looking at the cost of mounting and balancing four tires and I don't have a way to get all four off the bikes at one time so it's a bit of added hassle shuffling them to and from a shop.

I'm basically a pro at mounting bicycle tires so I figure it's the same thing on a larger scale. I thought balancing was the dealbreaker for DIY tire mounting until I heard about Dynabeads. They seem promising but I'm not a full believer.

So, my question is this:

Do you always mount/balance your own tires? Why or why not? Should I consider gearing up?

Thanks in advance everyone!

Dropped a gear... . . . . . . . . . . ...still here
post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 05:28 PM

<------ This guy mounts them.

Attached is a sketch of how to make your very own CABB to break beads. Requires nothing more than a few pieces of scrap 2x4 and some screws. Only the one board is fastened to anyone, so there is a bit of juggling required as you apply load to the lever... an assistant makes it much easier but I do it by myself.

To remove tire:
Let air out of tire. remove Schrader valve or drill a couple 1/4"ish holes in the tire.
Use the CABB. The holes will allow air to come out and the tire to compress enough to get it off the rim.
Grab your 3 tire irons and rim protectors and wrestle that sucker off.

To install the tire:
Grab your 3 tire irons and rim protectors and wrestle that sucker on.