My take on a custom intake... - Kawasaki Z125 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-21-2018, 09:00 PM Thread Starter

Cool My take on a custom intake...

So i watched all the videos and read the threads on the DIY intake and decided to do my own take on an intake. As I am an engineer I tend to over engineer stuff because i don’t want it to come apart or screw up because when they do it tends to be somewhere like the top of a mountain 2hrs from a way to get it home. So this is probably way more than you need but it should work and never come apart. i also wanted it to sit under the cowling a bit more.

Basically the steps are the same as the other DIY’s using the stock intake tube with a minor adjustment. I’ve seen people zip tie the stock filter around the end of the tube, that was a no go for me. I’ve seen others squeeze a filter into the end but with no rigidity to clamp to this also was a no go.

So I picked up a couple of UNI PK22 filters (1” 1/4 I believe the opening is). I needed two since i was doing both bikes.
I stopped by the hardware store and picked up 2 1” PVC connectors.
Picked up two hose clamps that go to 1 3/4”
I wanted to make sure the filter had no chance of coming loose or falling off. I believe this way that will never happen, if it does I have bigger issues to worry about.

The install steps are essentially the same the difference is using the 1” PVC connectors and the UNI filters. I actually PVC glued the filters to the PVC so they won’t ever be coming off. Since they are washable and the other end is on a hose clamp they can be removed easily for cleaning. The PVC fits perfectly deep into the intake tube so I felt good about that. The glue was a an extra measure because the filter was covered in oil and the flange is very small so it kept sliding off the end when I tried to hose clamp it. PVC glue, two minutes to dry and its now permanent.