Aracer rcmini 5 engine management ecu - Page 3 - Kawasaki Z125 Forum
 15Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by 502Z125 View Post
Ok Bluedart, thanks for sharing your Aracer experience/info with us!! You have been very helpful and I really appreciate it!! How much did your entire Aracer setup cost you for everything and where did you buy all of it at?

In my earlier post, I made a mistake and said that I got it through Steady Garage. I went back and realized that I got it from DROW.

It was just under $750 shipped

Edit: this was for:
Mini5 ECU
AFM Module
and a 1 to 4 extend cable (must have this if you are adding the AFM Module)

Last edited by Bluedart; 12-03-2018 at 10:50 AM.
Bluedart is offline  
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Greg_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 849
Garage
Compared to piggy back devices, this is a better way to do thing (my opinion). The other way to do things would be to program the stock ECU, but this may not be possible because they replaced the ECU for the stalling recall, not flashed a program to fix it. Hoping someone proves me wrong and brings out free or cheap software to tune the stock ECU.

My site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Youtube channel:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Greg_E is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Parksville (Vancouver Island), British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_E View Post
Compared to piggy back devices, this is a better way to do thing (my opinion). The other way to do things would be to program the stock ECU, but this may not be possible because they replaced the ECU for the stalling recall, not flashed a program to fix it. Hoping someone proves me wrong and brings out free or cheap software to tune the stock ECU.
Agree.

Jim G
JimGnitecki is offline  
 
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_E View Post
Hoping someone proves me wrong and brings out free or cheap software to tune the stock ECU.

It's probably cheaper to replace the ECU than flashing the ECU in the outside world. Once you release that to a dealer, it's only a matter of time before its out in the wild. If I had to venture a guess, ALL Kawasaki ECUs are flashed the same way, so you risk more than just opening up the Z125.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Greg_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 849
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by crakerjac View Post
It's probably cheaper to replace the ECU than flashing the ECU in the outside world. Once you release that to a dealer, it's only a matter of time before its out in the wild. If I had to venture a guess, ALL Kawasaki ECUs are flashed the same way, so you risk more than just opening up the Z125.

Then maybe we can find a developer to open them all up? I'd pay $100 for an application that was written well and build my own USB to serial interface cable to talk to the ECU.

Just please do not do this like a Harley, the interface gets locked to the serial number of the ECU so you can not use it on other bikes.
'

My site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Youtube channel:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Greg_E is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Parksville (Vancouver Island), British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_E View Post
Then maybe we can find a developer to open them all up? I'd pay $100 for an application that was written well and build my own USB to serial interface cable to talk to the ECU.

Just please do not do this like a Harley, the interface gets locked to the serial number of the ECU so you can not use it on other bikes.
'
It's pretty hard to re-use a Dynojet or Bazzaz on a differnt bike though too, as you need to remove all the wiring as well, and undo the damag done to the bike's wiring harness when tapping into it.

Also, a developer CANNOT make a tuning device that is fully portable from one bike to another if it is not required to be on the bike at all times. If he does, he gets ONE sale for all the work he did, and then the first buyer can give away, or SELL, tunes to anyone with the same model of bike, using the ONE tuner bought from the developer. No developer would make that mistake.

THAT's why the Harley solution works the way it does.

The advantage though is that there is no add-on device on the bike, no tapping into the bike's wiring harness, and you can get your bike dynotuned anywhere as well and have that final tune saved from your bike to your computer for safekeeping.

I had that Harley setup - the aftermarket "Powervision" version, not the brain-impaired Harle-Davidson version, and LOVED it. For ease of use example: whenever I changed the gearing, I could correct the speedometer with a simple change of a numerical entry in the software. Very easy.

Jim G
JimGnitecki is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 678
Hopefully the guys who figured out how to re-flash the Honda ECUs will start on the Z125. Sounds like you need to buy their USB dongle and then you can flash to your hearts content.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Greg_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 849
Garage
Coming from Buell where all you need is a cheap USB to serial cable with the correct connector, and a cheap application, all these other solutions are not very nice!

The harley stuff seems to employ encryption or some form of hardware coded handshake, else it would be easy to reverse it. Pretty sure most other companies use a similar method to protect the programming.

My site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Youtube channel:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Greg_E is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hoedar ecu? no info rodjr Electronics 48 01-09-2019 01:51 PM
ECU Recall flying dave Kawasaki Z125 General Discussion 53 06-14-2018 10:49 AM
Mods using stock ecu? rodjr68 Engines Discussions 4 05-04-2018 11:34 PM
Aracer Adjustable Timing Spark Coil? dodge Appearance & Modifications 3 08-30-2017 03:22 PM
Ebay Exhausts from Thailand (and ECU question) QuadZilla Exhaust Systems 5 06-05-2017 06:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome